The Winners of the 2016-2017 Annual Short Story Contest

CONGRATULATIONS to our Guild annual short story winners for 2017: 

Michael Craft (1stplace), Luke Magnotto (2nd place), and Catee Ryan (3rdplace). Winners received monetary awards per their placements (third place $100, second place $200, and first place $300). Michael Craft read his first-place short story, “Mister Puss,” to those in attendance at the May 6th general meeting.

Submissions were judged by a panel of three, independent professional writers: Jill Alexander Essbaum, Stephen Jay Schwartz, and Deanne Stillman, Below, are short biographies for each judge.

 Jill Alexander Essbaum is the author of several collections of poetry. She is the winner of the Bakeless Poetry Prize and recipient of two NEA literature fellowships. A member of the core faculty at the University of California, Riverside’s Palm Desert Low-Residency MFA program, she resides in Austin, Texas.

Deanne Stillman’s latest book is DesertReckoning, based on her Rolling Stone piece, “The Great Mojave Manhunt,” finalist for a PEN Center USA journalism award who also won the 2013 Spur Award for best western nonfiction, contemporary, the LA Press Club Award for best general nonfiction, and was named a Southwest Book of the year.

Stephen Jay Schwartz was Director of Development for film-maker Wolfgang Peterson. His novels, Boulevard, and Beat were optioned by producer Ben Silverman. Schwartz has had stories published in “Jewish Noir” for PM Press and “LA Fiction Anthology.” He is working on his third novel.

Mister Puss
By Michael Craft

Congratulations Michael!

You're Sweet
By Luke Magnotto

Congratulations Luke!

Piercing the Veil
Catee Ryan

Congratulations Catee!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software