2017 Annual Short Story Contest

The Palm Springs Writers Guild Annual Short Story Contest
is now open to all members.

Cash Prizes for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners:
$300 first place
$200 second place
$100 third place
Each member is allowed one submission. Cost of entry is $25.

Our judges:
Jill Alexander Essbaum, Stephen Jay Schwartz, and Deanne Stillman

Submission requires an online contest entry form and subsequent payment.
 Online Submission only! Submissions are to be emailed as attachments in MS Word Document (.doc or .docx). Any other file format will be disqualified.

Contest Rules:

  • All entries must be formatted as WORD documents, double spaced in 12 point Times New Roman font.
  • Manuscripts must have 1inch margins.
  • Entries must have a word count of 1,500 to 2,500 words, including title.
  • Appearing in each page header: Title of manuscript and word count.
  • Pages must be numbered in lower right hand corner.
  • All manuscripts must be original, unpublished work.
  • Author’s name MUST NOT appear anywhere on manuscript.
  • Submissions must be an original, unpublished (print or electronic) written work and a non-previous prize winner.
  • Contest Entry Fee payments via PayPal or Guest of PayPal must be paid at time of completing Contest Entry Form.

    Please note: failure to comply with the rules will result in a disqualification. Disqualified applicants and non- winners are not reimbursed application fees.

    At contest conclusion, submissions will be deleted. Critique of your work is not provided for this contest.

Example of Subject line of email:
Subject: PSWG Annual Short Story Contest. YOUR NAME HERE
Example of Cover Letter:
Attached please find my entry to the PSWG Annual Short Story contest titled, “Title Here.”

Entries accepted beginning February 1, 2017.
No entries accepted after March 15, 2017
Winners will be announced at the PSWG General Meeting on May 6, 2017.

About our Judges

Jill Alexander Essbaum is the author of several collections of poetry. She is the winner of the Bakeless Poetry Prize and recipient of two NEA literature fellowships. A member of the core faculty at the University of California, Riverside’s Palm Desert Low-Residency MFA program, she resides in Austin, Texas.

Deanne Stillman’s latest book is Desert Reckoning, based on her Rolling Stone piece, “The Great Mojave Manhunt,” finalist for a PEN Center USA journalism award and also won the 2013 Spur Award for best western nonfiction, contemporary, the LA Press Club Award for best general nonfiction, and was named a Southwest Book of the year.

Stephen Jay Schwartz was Director of Development for film-maker Wolfgang Peterson. His novels, Boulevard, and Beat were optioned by producer Ben Silverman. Schwartz has had stories published in “Jewish Noir” for PM Press and “LA Fiction Anthology.” He is working on his third novel.

Click here to register and enter.

Committee Chairperson
Lynn De Turk pswgcontest@gmail.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software