Log in

Click blue icon to login/logout


The Palm Springs Writers Guild Poetry Contest is open to all members beginning January 15, 2020. The contest judge is Agnes Walsh (see below).

A contest entry consist of 3 poems, each entry fee is $25. 

Pay your entry fee online here.

Cash prizes for 1st place $300, 2nd place $200, 3rd place $100.  With all winners’ permissions, poetry will be posted on PSWG website following contest. 1st and 2nd place winners will read their poems at the Guild’s April General Meeting. Awards will be given at the April general meeting.

Poetry Contest Rules

  • Contest entries limited to one page per poem, but you may submit three poems.
  • Thirty lines of poetry including white spaces for each poem and title.
  • Limit of 1 entry (3 poems) per contest. One poem per page.
  • Poetry may be on any subject, any style, any poetic format.
  • Required font is 12 point Times New Roman.
  • All entries must be in Microsoft Word format.
  • Poet’s name should NOT be on the document.
  • Please title each of your 3 poems
  • Each entry of up to 3 poems should be placed in one MS Word document.  Use poet’s name in subject line of email.  Example:  Sylvia Path poetry entry.  Email to kathy.weyer@att.net
Example of Subject line of email:
Subject: PSWG Poetry Contest. YOUR NAME HERE
Example of body of email content:
Attached please find my entry to the PSWG Poetry Contest titled, “Title Here.”
Signed, Your Name
  • No entries accepted after February 15, 2020.
  • Submit your poem to kathy.weyer@att.net - and you can also e-mail us there if you have any questions.

About our contest judge

Agnes Walsh was born in Placentia, Newfoundland. She is a poet and playwright. She has published three collections of poetry, In The Old Country Of My Heart, Killick Press, 1996, Going Around With Bachelors, Brick Books, 2007, and Oderin, Pedlar Press 2018. In 2006 she was named the Inaugural Poet Laureate for the city of St. John’s. She has traveled through Europe, the United States, Canada, the Azores and Iceland giving readings and workshops.  Her work as artistic director and writer for The Tramore Theatre Troupe (1999- 2012) won her the Newfoundland and Labrador Hospitality Award. In 2011 her collection of plays for Tramore Theatre was published by Breakwater Books

© 2020 Palm Springs Writers Guild
Website Design & Maintenance by

Privacy Policy
Contact Us
We are a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization.

Palm Springs Writers Guild
P.O. Box 947
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270