Upcoming events

Memoir Consultations with Lisa Dale Norton
January 15, 2018
Click here for details.

February 3, 2018
Meet Like-Minded Writers
Genre Group Connection at General Meeting

Come at 1:30 p.m. (30 minutes before the general meeting) to meet and mingle with people in your writing genre. Genre groups will be identified in the cafeteria part of the library, so you can easily meet fellow writers who are interested in your genre. Fiction, non-fiction, children’s, poetry, and other genres are planned.

February 3, 2018 Monthly Meeting

Presenter: Lisa Dale Norton, Editor
Topic: What Editors Know About a Memoir That Sells.
Lisa Dale Norton is an author, memoir editor, and public speaker. She is passionate about layered writing structures that reflect the complexity of life experience, and about the transformative power of writing a memoir. She is a gifted teacher, clear communicator and a pro at creating an environment were learning can happen.
Read more here.

February 4, 2018 Workshop

Presenter: Lisa Dale Norton
Topic: Writing the Best Memoir You Can
Writing the Best Memoir You Can shows you how to write a memoir that includes the elements editors look for in a manuscript. This workshop includes writing, brainstorming, group work, and reading your writing in small clusters. We locate the building blocks of memoir, practice finding the heart of your story, explore how that links to narrative arc, and exercise the dual voice of the memoirist. Q & A period at end of workshop. 
Read more here.

The Palm Springs Writers Guild is a 501(c)(3) not for profit public benefit organization established in the state of California.

Tax ID #43-2093738

*The specific purpose of this corporation is to encourage, develop and support  aspiring and established Coachella Valley writers as they pursue their craft by offering educational programs, mentoring, critique groups, and fellowship.
*Article II: Purpose B

The Board meets the first Saturday of each month, September through June at 11:00 a.m. until 1:00 p.m. at the Rancho Mirage Public Library, small meeting room adjacent to the front entrance.

Guild News

If you have not renewed your membership by December 31, 2017, you will need to join as a new member at the higher new member rate in 2018.

JOIN as new member

Find YOUR picture here.

New member orientation after each monthly meeting in the conference room across the hall from the community room. Come and get the skinny on all the Guild has to offer.

Annual Writing Contest
prize money increase! 1st $500, 2nd $300, 3rd $200.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software